Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 10
61
Support / Can I use a DXF that is not scaled in Metres?
« Last post by roger on June 25, 2015, 03:33:46 PM »
The basic requirement for automatic conversion of DXF files is that (a) they should be in DXF version 12 format (not 2012!); (b) Drawing units in Metres; (c) at real-world rectangular co-ordinates; and (d) each layer should contain only one type of object.

Unfortunately, architectural drawings often do not comply with these requirements because the originators are more interested in visual appearance than in geometric consistency.  Modern drawing packages allow different elements to be drawn at different scales and then superimposed.  The eye can integrate the various elements to make to comprehensible picture, but NoiseMap cannot do this.

To ensure easy conversion, you need to stick to the conventions of Ordnance Survey MasterMap or Landline datasets.  A particular problem is that often the OS Mastermap is regarded as a 'pictorial' background to the scheme drawings, so its layers are often flattened into a single layer.  This means that although the eye can distinguish roads, buildings, and other features, they are not longer identified by digital properties so fully automatic conversion is no longer possible.

Architects often set the drawing units to millimetres which gives greater precision for fine details, but NoiseMap will see an object with a dimension of 1000 as being a kilometre long, whereas it was intended to be a metre long. So models can end up being thousands of kilometres in size.

This problem can now be handled by NoiseMap.  If you know that a model has units of one millimetre, you enter the following in the command pane at the bottom of the log/results window:
set dxfrealscale 0.001

All the DXF co-ordinates (including height) will now be scaled by this factor.

You can set any scale you like: for example, if a drawing is scaled in feet, you can convert it to metres as follows:
set dxfrealscale 0.3048

All objects must be completely within the positive quadrant (ie to the east and to the north of the origin). Be aware that because the origin of an architectural drawing is probably not at real-world co-ordinates, some objects could be in the negative area (shaded pink in NoiseMap). In this case, you will get an invalid tile error when saving. You will have to shift the objects (using edit>modify object coordinates) so that they are in the positive quadrant before saving.

As a final caution, CAD software can now produce 'solid' 3-D models, where objects are stored as 3D surfaces rather than 3D lines.  NoiseMap cannot interpret 3D surfaces, but 3-D lines are ideal.
62
This could arise in many ways.  We suggest using view as colour to check all the road parameters, such as road surface types, gradients, hard/soft ground.  Then perhaps draw a cross-section between the road and the receiver giving the problem, one for each scenario, and check the ground and receiver heights. These should be consistent in both scenarios.

Also, check the output screen for warning messages.  If you find a lot of messages about contours crossing the road, this suggests that the ground model could do with simplification.  Delete any contours within the road boundary.  There is a specific function for this: Edit>Segment tools>Delete contours from segments.

Remember that ground contours are regarded as potential barriers.  Due to modelling approximations, they could potentially be slightly above road surface and could cause noise screening, which is why NoiseMap warns you about them.
63
The receiver parameter 'Height above local' (Enterprise) or 'Height above ground' (NoiseMap five) is normally only used when generating the receiver height from the ground model.  Receiver heights are only generated when you click 'Get height' during the receiver generation process. The receiver height is then stored as Height (Height above datum in Enterprise) and this value is used in all subsequent calculations.  The height above ground, which is required in order to calculate the average height of propagation, is then obtained at calculation time by finding the height of the ground at the receiver point.

Obviously, if you have not entered any ground contours, then NoiseMap can't use them to get the height above ground.  In this situation, it uses the parameter 'height above local ground' to calculate the average height of propagation, by assuming that the ground follows a steady slope between the edge of the road and the position of the receiver.

Note that if you change the ground model after generating the receivers, this could cause a problem. A receiver could end up at the wrong height above the ground. So you may need to regenerate all the receiver heights. In NoiseMap five, this is straightforward.  Select all the receivers (the easiest way is to switch off all objects except the receivers and then drag the selection box around them.)  Open the Object properties window.  This will show the Multiple Receiver Properties window and you will see that height above ground is one of the parameters.  Click on 'Calculate new height' and choose the method from the drop-down list. This will recalculate all the receiver heights, using the height above ground already assigned to each receiver.  Then save the new values.  (Be sure to do this in the Root Scenario of the receivers so that the new heights propagate through to child scenarios.)

64
Support / I can't load an archive with a lot of receivers from NM5 into Enterprise
« Last post by roger on March 19, 2015, 11:34:23 AM »
Unfortunately, although NoiseMap Enterprise can hold 16,000 receiver points, it is limited to only 8000 different receiver names, owing to legacy issues.

In your case, you have over 8000 receiver points, all with different names, generated automatically within NoiseMap 5. 

You will need to delete the some of the receivers or export the receivers into separate archives and create separate models each with less than 8000 different receiver names.

We would hope to correct this issue in some future release of NoiseMap Enterprise.
65
Support / When I load an archive file, I get 'Data Directory no longer exists'
« Last post by roger on March 19, 2015, 10:17:40 AM »
This happens with NoiseMap Enterprise when you transfer an archive file to a different computer with a different directory (folder) structure.  Or you may have deleted the original directories (folders).

It should not stop NoiseMap from working, as the required folders will be created when you save the scheme.  This is particularly likely to happen when you transfer an archive file from NoiseMap five to NoiseMap Enterprise: because NoiseMap five doesn't use folders, it is likely that the expected folder structure doesn't exist. As mentioned above, NoiseMap will create it for you.  It's possible that in rare cases, file permissions will prevent the folders from being created in which case you will receive a message that the model has not been saved.  You would need to make sure that you are saving to the correct folders, by going to File>Modify Scheme Files in NoiseMap Entperprise
66
Announcements / NoiseMap 5.1
« Last post by roger on January 27, 2015, 06:40:58 PM »
The latest version of NoiseMap 5 will increase your productivity even further.  The major changes are:
  • Ability to use multi-core parallel processing during calculations
  • Support for multiple high-dpi displays
  • BS5228 octave calculations
  • ISO 9613 air absorption calculations
  • Improved Results explorer for loading and managing receiver/contour results
  • Better handling of 24 by 1-hour and day/evening/night calculations
Other new features:
  • Additional script commands,
  • Additional search (Find) commands;
  • Extended View-As-Colour
  • Improved error checking
  • Improved compatibility with NoiseMap Enterprise
You can get all these features (plus more totalling over 100 new features) now by download if you have current maintenance. If your maintenance is not current please contact NoiseMap for updates.
67
Support / NoiseMap tells me "Unable to match receiver data to loaded receiver for ID 3"
« Last post by roger on January 09, 2015, 11:37:40 AM »
This is happening because you have just downloaded receiver results but the tile containing receiver ID 3 hasn't been loaded.  So NoiseMap can't apply the results to that receiver. This is not a problem if you are not interested in the results at the given receiver. 

However, if your intention is to inspect or export ALL the receiver results, you need to go back to the database previewer and load all the tiles containing the remaining receivers.  And then re-load all the receiver results.

Check that you haven't got any unmatched receivers this time, and you can now safely export all the receiver results.
Ensure that all receivers are unselected.  If any are selected, then only the selected ones are exported.  Also note that generally you will only want to export the 'headline results', so ensure that the 'Export all result types' is unchecked.  Search this forum or look at online help for further guidance on this.
68
Hints and Tips / When are calculated results marked as invalid?
« Last post by roger on January 09, 2015, 11:21:10 AM »
Calculated results (both contours and receivers) are stored in the database with a validity indicator.  If a change is made to a property of any geographical object within a tile containing a calculated result, those results will be marked as 'invalid'. If the change is in any of the tiles within the calculation 'surround' of the results, again the result will be marked invalid.  However, if the change is to non-geographical objects, such as traffic flows or site activities, the calculations are not marked as invalid. When undertaking calculations, you can choose whether or not to Recalculate Valid Results. This can prevent time being spent on unnecessary recalculations.  However, if you have made a change to a traffic flow or an activity, you will need to recalculate even if the results were not invalidated.

Note that when you download a result, the full calculation details are shown, including the date and time, the tile surround and the calculation parameters. So as long as you keep a record of what changes you have made to the model, you can judge whether a recalculation is needed.  NoiseMap does not store a log of all the editing you do, but the NoiseMap Output/Results screen does log major operations on the model and can be manually saved as a record from File>Save As.

Note also that the calculation details also include the name of the computer, dongle (licence), version of NoiseMap and number of calculation engines used, which could be helpful in event of any problems with the results.
69
Announcements / Developments since Summer 2014
« Last post by roger on December 18, 2014, 04:45:11 PM »
Since the summer, we have been concentrating on improving the user experience of NoiseMap. Subtle, but important, changes take into account the development of computer hardware, larger and more complex models, and demands for more powerful scripting.  For example,
  • Support for high-dpi displays keep to text readable;
  • Find and View-As-Colour working for more objects/parameters;
  • Improved script file support for Find;
  • Assert command added to scripts to permit testing;
  • Additional script variables permit object counting;
  • Improved editing when multiple objects are selected;
  • Better validity checking of traffic data when using DEN conversion formulae.

Context-sensitive help and the User Manual have been updated, and a new example database is provided.
70
Announcements / Administrator Tools Version 0.9.17
« Last post by roger on December 18, 2014, 04:21:37 PM »
If you use the 'remote database' functionality of NoiseMap Five, we would mention that Database Administrator Version 0.9.17 is current and we advise you to update if you experience any problems with any earlier version.  In particular, earlier versions can have problems with restoring database backups made from within NoiseMap.  Backups made from within NoiseMap are perfectly valid: it is the administrator tools than can have problems restoring them.

You should ensure that you make regular backups in case user, computer or software errors cause corruption of the databases, and you should ensure that you can restore them.  Problems can occur at the most inopportune time and you need to be confident in what to do in an emergency, however rare this may be.

If you use the 'standalone' database system (nmdb files), you should back these up using standard Windows procedures. The nmdb do not require a specific 'restore' procedure: if a database gets corrupted, use copy and paste to replace it with a good copy.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 10